Anime · Anime challenge

Anime Challenge #17 – Best Supporting Male Anime Character

Is it weird that most of the time I like supporting characters more than the actual protagonists? It has to do with the fact that I find myself resonating more with them rather than the tragic heroes destined for great things. In most action anime, it’s always the hero who gets to finish off the bad guys, or it’s always the hero who has some impossible power or destiny to fulfill. I do understand that it’s precisely the reason why they’re heroes, but I do find it a little annoying nonetheless. That being said, I don’t particularly dislike them. In fact some characters like Lelouch even become my favourite. I just feel that I resonate more with the supporting ones. And that too, onlyย most of the times.

Conclusion: I have a lot of favourite supporting characters, which makes it hard for me to decide.

Sometimes though, supporting characters become even more popular than the protagonists, and that is exactly what happened with Captain Levi and exactly why I’m going to go with him for this post. He is one of the few supporting characters that have gained their own fan following greater than that of the protagonist himself, and for all the right reasons.

maxresdefault

Captain Levi is stern, honourable and an impeccable fighter. He is introduced in the second half of the anime, and plays a major role in the anime. I think most of his popularity has to do with the fact that he is unrelenting and dauntless, and makes a perfect soldier. It has also to do with the countless memes and shippings of the Tumblr fandom. The anime didn’t reveal a lot about his character, but it was still enough to enchant the hearts of the viewers.

His skill and athletic prowess are incredulous and it makes him a formidable opponent. Not to mention he can be downright scary at times.He is shown to be very serious and vigilant and loyal to Erwin(who seems very fishy to me, no spoilers please) along with having a knack for neatness. Over all, he is a very fun character and I loved his attitude and strength. He could very well have his own spin off series.

 

I had said before that I resonate more with supporting characters and Levi is more or less the heroic kind that I had been complaining about earlier, but there was still something so impressive about him that, even though I wasn’t able to relate to him, I couldn’t help but like him. That might seem contradictory of my statements earlier but honestly, heย doesn’tย have any special abilities like Eren, so I’d say he more than fits the description.

capture

What do you think?

Who’s your favourite supporting male character?

capture

18 thoughts on “Anime Challenge #17 – Best Supporting Male Anime Character

  1. I’d choose Levi for this as well, and reading the manga (don’t worry, I won’t spoil) has only reinforced that. Even with what little we see of him in the anime, he’s a complex and intriguing character who doesn’t fit neatly into any boxes.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Levi is actually my absolute favorite from AoT but I didn’t feature him for my fave support on my 30 Day Challenge-surprisingly. But I foresee myself writing about him very soon! Indeed, as a manga reader myself Levi is amazing throughout the series! And hmm, I’m curious why Erwin is fishy to you!! Don’t worry I won’t spoil just wondering what you’re thinking ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’d love to hear your views on Levi. He is an awesome character and this comment only confirms it.
      Erwin certainly has more to him than he lets on haha. Can’t wait for season 2! ๐Ÿ™‚
      Thanks for reading.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Excellent choice! I, too, sometimes relate more to the support characters rather than the main characters. Often times the secondary characters are much more interesting and knowledgeable about their surroundings in comparison to some heroes who can be hopelessly naive and bland. Levi is such an intriguing, mysterious character, and even though I was okay with Eren, it was Levi that caught my attention the most! Awesome post, Ava! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks a lot! I’m glad to know that there are more who share the same opinion on supporting characters as me.
      Levi is indeed an interesting character and I’m so excited to see what’s in store for him next!
      Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Levi is my favorite male anime character, and I agree, sometimes supporting characters can be better than the protagonist. Also, Levi does have his own spin-off series =) Well, not series, but a two mangas and two episodes.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It’s funny you say Sunohara, because I was actually scrolling through these comments to post my own all time favorite male anime supporting character and he also happens to be from Clannad. Akin Furukawa! Akin is one of my all time favorite anime characters. His relationship with Tomoya is so real and so heartwarming. He’s a great Dad and great all around character.

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

