Anime · Anime challenge

Anime Challenge #16 – Anime With Best Animation

Animation is one of the factors that affects my opinion of a show. I’m one of the people who judge an anime by its animation. Though I’ve seen a lot of anime with some amazing animation and effects, for this one I’ll have to go with Tokyo Ghoul.

My first choice would have been Attack On Titan, of course, but it had so many more features other than the outstanding animation that held my attention till the very end. So while it’s one of the best shows I’ve seen, I don’t owe it majorly to the animation. In the case of Tokyo Ghoul though, I think the animation had definitely been one of MAJOR factors why I liked it. And that is the reason I’m going with Tokyo Ghoul for today. I’ll let the gifs speak for me.

200-2

h

The animation of TG is superb. And it’s not just the animation. The effects and the soundtrack play just as important a role in its charm. The story is a little loose and slow, but the effects and animation make up for it. I don’t think I would have even finished the anime had it not been for the animation and the soundtrack. And the characters. The characters really grew on me and I found myself getting attached to them all.

The first season was pretty great. The second season not so much. The way the story was depicted, though, with the beautiful soundtrack and the eerie and dark vibes coming off from the animation and effects, made it enjoyable. So while the story wasn’t the very best, it’s implementation certainly covered up for it. All the scenes were portrayed in a brilliant manner and were able to capture my attention. Especially the ending scenes of the first and second season. They were both so beautiful and tragic.

200-4  200-3

This was the first time I liked an anime not because of the story, but because of the effects. And I was pleasantly surprised, as I’d always thought myself to be a story lover. Guess I’m a sucker for good animation too.

capture

What about you?

Which anime do you think has the best animation?

capture

55 thoughts on “Anime Challenge #16 – Anime With Best Animation

  1. Very good pick! I LOVE Tokyo Ghoul, but not because of the anime. TG is actually one of the few manga stories I’ve read. Ishida’s story is one of the best stories I’ve read in general because of the manner in which it’s told. The anime, however, failed to carry over the strengths of the story. The visuals were fantastic and the soundtrack (Unravel is gorgeous) was lovely. The first season was far better than the first, but the ending scenes of both season 1 and 2 were stunning! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve heard that the manga is very good and you just confirmed it! Ofcourse, it’s one of the major reasons of the anime’s popularity. Will have to read it whenever I can.
      Unravel is one of the best openings I’ve ever come across. It’s amazing.
      And the soundtrack is also perfect! I really LOVE it.
      Thanks for reading! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m working on a post that celebrates bloggers in this community that have been a support and inspiration to me. I hope for you to participate by letting me know two things. One, is What are you passionate about? Two, is what is your favorite quote? Thank you so much for your comments and wonderful posts! I love your lovely blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Omg thanks Tiana! I’m a fairly new blogger and to be featured in something like this is truly an honour for me.
      I appreciate you thinking of me. 🙂

      I think I’m most passionate about music, books and anime.
      Aah that’s a hard one. I think I’ll have to go with this beautiful quote from I’ll give you the sun – “You have to see the miracles for the there to be miracles.” It is such a positive and encouraging quote that always warms my heart no matter how many times I read it. It is indeed something to live by.

      You have a lovely blog yourself and I’m so glad to have followed it. It truly makes me smile. So THANK YOU to you. 🙂
      All the best with your post.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you so much! I love looking at the quotes that people love because they say so much about the individual. I love your blog and you are such a wonderful human being. I’m so happy for you to participate!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve been meaning to check this out, but all the violence keeps pushing me away. But then I thought, “if I could handle Attack on Titian, I can handle this”. And then school started again. But I’ll try to check it out sometime… Maybe you could do a top ten list on most beautiful anime? I dunno, maybe I just like unique aesthetics, but that’s obvious as I have two Top Ten Most Beautiful Webtoons, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It IS a little gory, but not as much as AOT that’s for sure. And you kind of get used to it, like in AOT. You should check it out whenever you can.
      I think I might do something like that lol.
      Thanks for reading. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. No, you weren’t pushy at all! In fact, I appreciate comments of this sort. I’m glad that you are liking what I post and want to see more of such from me. It makes me more motivated and encouraged. So thank you!! 🙂 I’ll see if I can do a post like that.
        Do let me know your thoughts about TG when you do see it! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Heheheee I know, right? All he wanted was a date xD. I really love that crossing scene though, where everyone is going in the opposite direction and he can smell them. It’s so brilliantly portrayed.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Um yeah well the opening kind of gives away a little bit of the plot. It’s not a spoiler but it’s better you find out yourself lol. I had already known who he was before the watching the anime.

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Usually, the best animation comes from movies. Movies like Garden of Words, Redline and Jin-Roh, are good examples of the best animation in different styles.
    But personally, anime with spectacular animation, that I liked the most was Kara No Kyoukai series. It had beautiful character designs, great direction and breath taking action scenes. And as for soundtrack, in my opinion, it is the best Yuki Kajiura’s soundtrack out there.
    🙂

    Like

  5. Great review! The animation truly is amazing in Tokyo Ghoul. The effects are really good especially during fight scenes. The opening is very much addictive and it plays so well with the anime its self XD. I grew attached to characters too! Such as: Tsukiyama, Uta, Nishki and Ayato. Do you have any favorites? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks! I’m glad you agree.
      The opening (unravel) is one of my favourite openings of all time! I love it so much and it fits perfectly with the anime.
      My favourites have to be Touka, Kaneki, Ayato and Amon. 🙂
      Thanks for reading.

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I haven’t watched this show but since we’re on the topic of amazing animation, I’d like to take the opportunity to advocate for my favorite anime of 2016 and possibly of all time, Flip Flappers. Flip Flappers’ animation is permitted to defy the laws of physics due to the nature of the worlds of illusion that the protagonists adventure through.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Another anime I’ve yet to see and heard so much about. So many anime, so little time haha.
      But yes, from what little I’ve seen and heard about Flip Flappers, it does seem to have an awesome animation.
      Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

