Anime · Anime challenge

Anime Challenge #14 – Anime That Never Gets Old

Among all the anime I’ve seen, I have a long list of the ones that I want to re-watch. It’s not longer than my to-watch list, but long enough for me to face the dilemma of choosing between re-watching an old anime or starting a new one. Every anime-in my opinion-is worth a re-watch. But very few of them can be re-watched multiple times without seeming too boring or old. For me, Fairy Tail is that kind of anime.

I’ve already seen it multiple times, and I still laugh at the same old jokes the same way I used to when I’d seen it for the first time. It still manages to have the same effect on me, and even when I know what’s going to happen next, my excitement doesn’t fade. I haven’t seen a lot of the recent arcs, but when I do sit down to watch FT, I find myself returning to the older arcs, even when I’m missing out on the newer ones. Maybe it’s the nostalgia. The sweet memories, that keep bringing me back to the anime. The funny thing is that FT is one of the most predictable anime I’ve seen, Β and yet it is also one of the most entertaining. The entertainment exceeds the predictability by a great mark, which is one of the reasons I like it so much.

3a1bc14bdecdf0de1ccaed88ad48ed48

 

That being said, I do think that its time to end the anime/manga. I feel that the story shouldn’t be stretched for longer than is required. In fact, Fairy tail should have ended long ago. From all that I’m learning about the newer arcs, it seems that they have more plot twists and drama than most daily soaps these days. It seems to be more of a moneymaking stunt now that it has achieved mainstream success. I mean, on one hand, sure we don’t want to stop seeing our favourite characters and their awesome fights. But we’ve seen so much of these characters already. I don’t want the anime/manga to become boring or forced. I hope I’m not sounding like a mother who’s fearing for her child (although that’s the only way my feelings can be described).

download-2

Anyway, the characters, the soundtrack and even the plot (though predictable) has managed to keep me hooked on re-watching it and reminiscing the good old days. It will always remain close to my heart no matter what and it will never get old. I can totally see myself sitting on my couch ten years later and re-watching it for the hundredth time.

capture

a1c684556890ce23c4811e32c2b882a7

What about you? What’s the one anime that never gets you bored and will never get old?Β 

Sorry for the short(and late!) post.

capture

21 thoughts on “Anime Challenge #14 – Anime That Never Gets Old

  1. Hunter x Hunter for me! I love that show. I usually watch the old version, though. πŸ™‚
    I haven’t seen the new Fairy Tail episodes, but I do have the urge to rewatch the old ones after reading this. Haha. So many anime, so little time.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. yasss I love fairy tail!! πŸ˜€ this one doesn’t get old – but for my challenge I wrote Psycho-Pass just because I love re-watching it over and over! I think fairy tail might be heading towards it’s end. also did u know a lot of the arc’s in the anime were actually filler!? I found that shocking. great pick!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m watching Psycho Pass at the moment and I’m really liking it!
      Yeah, I was aware that there a quite a number of fillers in the anime, and I usually skipped those arcs. They weren’t quite as good as the other ones, honestly.
      Thanks for reading! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. For me, it would be Dragon Ball, DBZ to be particular. I’m proud to say I still love this old long run series and can’t even count through my fingers how many times I watched it. I would always enjoy the exaggerated battle scenes, explosion all over the corner, and lots above the hyperbolic level. I love this nostalgic feeling. Dragon Ball will never get old as long as we, who experienced the retro generation, exist at present times.

    Thanks for sharing this nice post. I might also post something like this. Cheers! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Yay, Fairy Tail! I don’t think I’ll get tired of re-watching Fairy Tail either! I wrote Pokemon for my answer since I’ve been watching it for as long as I can remember, and Naruto is starting to grow on me as well, haha ^-^
    Any long anime that allows you to get attached to the characters is basically one that I’ll probably need to revisit more than once.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Yeah, i haven’t watched any of these, but I’m assuming you have not watched Monogatari (Bakemonogatari,Nisemonogatari, etc). Monogatari is one of my all time favorite anime, its ongoing at about a total of 72 episodes and I’ve watched it in full at least 17 times. The direction is incredible, the dialogues are both hilarious and deeply psychological and its cast of characters is the greatest ensemble of any anime I’ve ever seen.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re right, I haven’t seen Monogatari. Another anime to add in my to-watch list. Okay, even I haven’t seen Fairytail SEVENTEEN times. So it must be reallyy amazing for you to have seen it that many times.
      Thanks again for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

