Anime · Anime challenge · Uncategorized

Anime Challenge#5 – Anime I’m Ashamed I Enjoyed

Of all the anime I’ve seen, there are ones that i have liked and others that i haven’t liked so much. But to choose an anime that i’m ASHAMED i enjoyed required a lot of thinking. After much thought and reflection, i was finally able to agree upon Hayate the Combat Butler.

75212

 

As the name suggests, the story follows the adventures of Hayate, who serves as the Butler of the rich Sanzenin household, in order to gain enough money to repay the enormous debt left by his parents. His duties involve protecting the sole heir of the Sanzenin family, Nagi from any danger. Hence the word combat in the name.

The story is completely ridiculous. Actually, there isn’t much of a story at all. There’s loads of comedy in it though, which might be the reason i enjoyed it. I’m not even sure what genre this anime would fall in. It’s got harem, shojo, action,.. basically a mix of a lot of genres. The cast mostly consists of female characters. I think there are only two male characters in it, aside from Hayate(?).

I don’t think i even finished this anime, but i did enjoy the episodes that i did see. It was a long time ago, when i had just been introduced to the anime world.

Some scenes of the anime are completely ludicrous, only for the viewer’s entertainment. There’s no logic whatsoever. All the characters are likable but have their own quirks. You will have to leave your brains behind while watching it, but if you do that, you may enjoy it very much.

d6ezttv

If you knew me, you’d be completely surprised that i watched this anime, as my tastes in anime are nothing like this. I now enjoy intelligent anime with an impressive story and characters, not some illogical anime with a mediocre story purely for entertainment. That being said, i somehow still ended up really liking this anime. Maybe that’s because at that time, my standards of anime were not that high ( I hadn’t even seen Death Note at that time!).

But what about you all? What is that one anime that you’re ashamed you enjoyed? We won’t judge i promise. 😉

hayate-nagi-maria-hayate-the-combat-butler-30274953-532-386
Thanks for reading!

 

 

6 thoughts on “Anime Challenge#5 – Anime I’m Ashamed I Enjoyed

  1. I’m not ashamed that I enjoyed Hayate Combat Butler but I was surprised that I enjoyed it. Everything about it kind of screams that I should have found it truly painful to watch and yet it kind of just made me smile and keep watching more. Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly. My situation was a similar one. I had never thought i would enjoy such an anime but i did. Even though my taste in anime is quite the opposite.
      Thanks for reading! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I liked it when I watched it too, though I don’t think I ever finished. I may not be able to sit through even one episode if I were to try this now but at the time, it was pretty entertaining.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Even I haven’t finished it as there wasn’t any particular story going on. You can start watching it in between and it won’t matter.
      And yes, it did seem quite entertaining at that time.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I was once again interested in anime after I watched some episodes of Hayate the combat butler. But now, looking back to it, I don’t find it as much appealing, as it was to me before. But still, can’t say that I’m ashamed of it, more like I find that I was immature at that time. As for an anime which I’m ashamed that I liked would be ‘Letter Bee’. Because that anime was not able to give any ending after starting with a good fantasy theme.

    Thanks for sharing your thought though! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My situation is quite the same actually. But I would be a little ashamed to talk about it with my anime watching friends as they would be completely shocked by it.
      Thanks for reading and checking out my blog!

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

