Books · Character Wars

Character Wars – Leo Valdez or Ron Weasley

Hey guys!

I’m back with another post of Character Wars after a positive response from you guys. So today I’ll be making another tough choice, in hopes of reducing my incredulous indecisiveness, between Valdez and Weasley!

I don’t know where this comparison came from. It just popped into my head, to be honest.  It’s purely a random selection of candidates. So I’m sorry if it seems incongruous.

Both of them can be considered the humour guys of the story. But make no mistake, they also play a very essential role in their respective novels. They’re both part of a terrific trio and have great personalities.

 

unnamed

Leo Valdez, the sassy mechanic and the son of Hephaestus, is one of my favourite characters from Heroes Of Olympus. He is funny, smart, witty and downright skillful. Not to mention he can tame fire and is a flame prince. Powers aside, his personality has great depth. While he never shows his feelings and acts all dorky and quirky on the outside, he has his own insecurities and worries. His life hadn’t been easy and yet he never complained. He also had to undergo the excrutiating pain of being thirdwheeled by his bestfriends. He is the proud Captain of Argo II and the prophecy would have never been possible without him.

 

images-35

Ron Weasley, the ginger that we all love, is a character that I was able to relate to the most. He is not any special boy of a famous prophecy, nor is he an exceptionally intelligent wizard with top skills. He is just a family boy, without any tragic past. But he is also a very loyal friend and an even braver wizard. Being one of the youngest children of his family, he had the pressure to live up to the expectations of his family and exceed the accomplishments of his siblings. But he handled all the problems well and never let them worry him. He was Harry’s left hand, his first and best friend, always supporting him and motivating him. His family was always home for Harry and without him things may have turned out a lot differently. Perhaps even quite the opposite. So I think it’s safe to say that – WEASLEY IS OUR KING!

 

They are both two outstanding characters created by excellent authors, but now that I have to choose, I think it has to be – LEO.

It’s Leo, maybe because of his sense of humour and sarcasm, and while both of them are quite funny, I just feel that Leo somehow really left a mark. Not that it means that Ron is any less. It was a hard choice to make and as I wrote this post I realised that I liked Ron even more than I thought. He is an amazing character.

 

Cheers to both! And cheers to Queen Rowling and Uncle Rick for creating such beautiful characters.

 

Who is your favourite between the two? Valdez? Weasley? Both?

Thanks for reading! 🙂

Note : I do not own any of the images featured on this post.

4 thoughts on “Character Wars – Leo Valdez or Ron Weasley

  1. I think they’re the perfect match up! They’ve very similar characters in relatively similar worlds.

    I have to go with Ron though. I don’t know what it is, maybe it’s Rupert Grint, but something about his character really came to life for me in a way that not a lot of characters do. Aside from Snape, Ron was one of my favorite characters in the series.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have to say Leo Valdez for this one, just for the fact that he sacrificed himself. There was no guarantee his plan would work, and the fact that he didn’t tell anyone but Hazel and Frank to spare the others make it all the better.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

