Anime · Favourites

Least Favourite Anime – Mirai Nikki and Another

Hey everyone!

Today I’ll be talking about two of my least favorite anime. These are the animes that  were highly recommended to me and had some really good ratings, but which ended up leaving me dissatisfied and disappointed. This is not a hatepost or a rant, but just my own personal thoughts on certain aspects that I disliked about the two animes. We’re always doing a favourites post, so I thought it’d be cool to do something different and try out a least favorite post.

Many of you may not agree with me, and that’s alright. We’re all different people here with differing opinions, and discussing them in a civilised and respectable manner is what I love about blogging.

 

MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS!

1. Mirai Nikki (Future Diary):

I had huge expectations from this anime as it had some really great feedback from viewers. The beginning of the anime was interesting, but it started seeming stretched and forced towards the end.  The concept and idea had a great potential, but I felt that the anime wasn’t able to live up to it. I also didn’t like some of the themes featured in the anime, for example having a small child (reisuke)  become a diary holder. And portraying him as an antagonist and killing him without any regrets. I mean, seriously, you are willing to murder a small child who doesn’t even have the level of maturity to be playing the game and not even mourning it later. I expected the anime to be some sort of protest or rebellion against the survival game like the hunger games book trilogy, but it wasn’t the case. Also, YANDERE! How cool. But not really. I did not like the character of Yuno as much. And towards the end the whole parallel Yuno and time travel concept seemed very confusing and far fetched. And Yuki is the weakest protagonist I’ve ever  come across. The fact that he was so gullible and naive, really bothered me. So, yes, the anime could have been great, but it wasn’t. The opening, however is really catchy and nice.

 

2. Another:

It was an okayish anime. Again, great viewer review and feedback, but didn’t live up to my expectations. It has nothing to do with the fact that it is a horror anime without being even remotely scary, because I already knew that it wouldn’t be. I think I have the same issue with this anime as well. Every single person dying. I don’t have anything against violence(I’ve seen snk\aot and I love it)but with the fact that those deaths were pointless and without any meaning. The suspense was intriguing and the reveal was good, but it could have been better. I think the main issue with me is that it was just the two of them against the world, and only the two of them were right and all the side characters were just side characters. Same goes with Mirai Nikki.

 

Yuki and Yuno/Kouichi and Misaki, against the entire world and the people, who will eventually die.

 

 

Do you agree? Disagree? What are your least favorite animes? Let me know in the comments.

Thanks for reading!

11 thoughts on “Least Favourite Anime – Mirai Nikki and Another

  1. Agree that mirai nikki goes seriously off the rails about midway through and then just keeps getting weirder.
    I quite like Another but I like that style of Horror and it never really tries to be anything more than what it is.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve yet to watch Another so I skipped that part but Mirai Nikki is one of those anime I completed despite utterly loathing it. Maybe it’s because it’s main attraction is Yuno’s yandere antics but she’s someone who bases their very existence around another person in such a one-sided manner and that really didn’t appeal to me. None of the popular ‘dere’ archetypes are my thing anyway. And the less said about Yuki the better. It didn’t help that the series had plot holes the size of the moon either…

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Same. Even I didn’t drop the anime as I was still curious about how they were going to fix everything that they had messed up in the story. Good to know that I’m not the only one who dislikes Mirai Nikki.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t watched Another, either, so I also glanced over that part. I have a slight soft spot for Mirai Nikki only because it was one of the very first mangas I ever read as a kid. Maybe not the best thing to read as a kid! I also continued to watch it for Yuno only, though I would definitely not want to be her friend or anywhere near her. There’s something about having a character going down the drain to the extreme, psychologically speaking, with no holds barred. Otherwise, yea, it’s pretty horrible.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha first mangas/animes always have a place in your heart, no matter what the story. It was intriguing to see what a character like Yuno would do next, so I can understand why you didn’t stop watching it.

      Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

