Book reviews · Books

Book Review – I’ll Give You The Sun, Jandy Nelson

I didn’t consider myself a big fan of YA contemporaries until i read this book which absolutely blew me away and made me fall in love with the genre.

One line synopsis:

The story follows the lives of twins Noah and Jude who fall apart during a tragedy and try to make things right in their lives while also rekindling their relationship.

Views:

I deeply enjoyed every moment of reading this book. The lyrical, metaphorical storytelling, shifting meticulously between the past and the present, captured my attention till the last page. Β The characters of Noah and Jude were likable as well as relatable and the STORY and the WRITING, were downright amazing.There was something about Jandy Nelson’s eloquent and slightly quirky style filled with loads of sarcasm and humour.

The best part of the book, for me, were its quotes. This book is probably the ONLY one that made me mark certain pages and scribble down all the best quotes. In case you’re wondering, i’ll shortly be doing another post about my favourite quotes from this book.

I am a major fantasy fan but this book made me want to read more such contemporaries. Totally looking forward to reading more such books.

Rating:

4.5/5

In a nutshell, this book made me laugh out loud, cry in a corner and basically feel a torrent of emotions i didn’t know i could feel.

 

4 thoughts on “Book Review – I’ll Give You The Sun, Jandy Nelson

Share your thoughts

